Chapter XXVII: The Hollow Earth

Chapter XXVII: The Hollow Earth

“Next morning we awoke to the wild calls of cave-frogs carrying across the lapping subterranean water, and the King’s attendants offering us an odd but flavorful breakfast and a variety of civilized past-times. The others elected to return to their beds, pleading aches and exhaustion from our ordeal the day before, but I accepted the Royal hospitality, and soon found myself moving smoothly through vast caverns of muted blue, grey, and brown, seated in an elegant cave-boat of exotic design, and accompanied by the King’s eldest daughter, Princess of the court of the Underdark.

“While her attire would have raised eyebrows back home, she behaved with as much decorum and charm as the best-bred young woman of Boston or London society. We spent a pleasant hour drifting among the luminous fungi and smooth stone walls of the buried world, while she laughed at my amazed exclamations at the passing of gigantic fish with glowing fins, and we smiled together at the soft loveliness of the caverns into which the river opened out at intervals.

“I was sorry to return when she said that the hour for luncheon was approaching (although how the people of the Underdark tell the time without sun or chronometer is still a puzzle to me), and we turned the boat around to wind our way back to her father’s palace”

[Amazing build in the Hollow Earth region, by Tekelili Tantalus. As well as the lovely caverns (free boat available at the dock), there are shops for fantasy and Lovecraftian-themed home decor and clothing, including the exotic outfit Michele is wearing in the picture, and the cool Cthulhuoid monocle that I’m wearing but you can’t see it because I’m facing the wrong way, which is or was available for $1L, and which I suspect I’ll be wearing quite a bit.]

4 Responses

  1. *beaming so hugely*…perfection…bravo bravo!!

  2. but but but with a monocle,
    don’t you see with only one eye?

  3. […] June 16, 2009 by Michele Hyacinth Here’s my second blogpost for Alicia Chenaux’s annual ”Big Bad Blogger Challenge”.  For this post, I thought I’d insert one picture and create a story around it.  I may do this for the remainder of the BBBC (I feel like a news anchor with a stuttering issue).   And I may connect the story from day to day…or not.  We’ll see!   In any event, I wouldn’t be surprised if this approach has been done before, since, in some ways, there’s not much new under the sun.  But for me the thought to do this actually stems from the NaNoWriMo experience combined with Botgirl’s recent plurk about interpretting life like one would a dream.   I have a hunch therein lay an interesting process for tapping into creativity in a different way, so I thought I’d give it a whirl.  And (as an update to this intro) really where I first saw this approach?  Dale’s wonderful storytelling webblog entry from earlier this year:  “Chapter XXVII The Hollow Earth” . […]

  4. […] The elvish green leather armor and cloak are from Destiny’s Designs (but come to think of it from a Lucky Chair rather than the hunt, oops!), and the monocle is from way back.) […]

Leave a Reply

