The Enemy Within

Enemies; ya just gotta love 'em!When I referred to Prokofy Neva’s “enemies list” in a comment on his Second Thoughts weblog the other day, I thought I was being metaphorical. But now the latest edition of his “FIC list” is out, and I’m prominently featured, third from the top, in the very first section, entitled “My Enemies”.

I look forward to Prokofy recalling his Matthew, and beginning to send along the Love. As long as he doesn’t get too sappy. :)

(I can’t tell you much about the rest of the list. “FIC” is short for “Fêted Inner Core”, which has a nice pun on “fetid” (or even “fœtid”). But you’ll have to investigate the Second Thoughts archives yourself if you want to know why the parts are numbered 1.0, 2.0, 2.13, 2.6, and Noosphere, or what each part means.)

Just for the record, I don’t consider myself Prokofy Neva’s enemy, or him mine. We had a misunderstanding a long time ago, in which he cursed me out in public for something that I hadn’t done, and ever since he’s put the worst possible spin on everything I’ve said or done. It’s a bummer, really; not only do I like having friends (and dislike having, and for that matter not really know how to have, enemies) in general, but Second Thoughts has some really interesting discussions in the comments (where interesting people come by and post their thoughts in response to Prokofy’s often-provocative statements), and sometimes has real gems in it itself. But I’ve had to stop commenting there, because it upsets him so much.

(In this very posting declaring our enmity, for instance, we find “Some people…, like Sardonyx Linden, get on here *only because they have a cool name*. No other reason. Seriously.” Isn’t that great? I could have written that, in a different context.)

But ah well. Things will proceed as they will. They say that there are no strangers, only friends that you haven’t met yet. In the same way I think maybe there are no enemies, only people that haven’t yet succumbed to my eldritch mind-control powers…

4 Responses

  1. “ichabod, but then you wouldn’t be ale to condemn Dale Innis, which is necessary and vital.”

    Fuck me! Come one man, what did you do? Did you shoot his cat or something? You *must* have at least insulted his mum or flicked the Vs to his gran!

  2. Haha! I hadn’t noticed I was going to be condemned. Do I hafta, like, wear a sign and put a barbed-wire fence around myself and stuff? Or is that only houses?

    I honestly don’t know what I did to make Mr. Neva dislike me so much. I suspect it’s mostly not shutting up; I freely admit that shutting up is not one of my Core Skills. :)

  3. Argh! I can’t believe I didn’t make the list AGAIN this year! Even after getting lambasted in 3 (or was it 4?) consecutive posts last fall! I took over Lindens’ office hours! I shoved my Leninist ideas down everyone’s throats! I even had my own nickname — Jacek “Go Around the People” Antonelli!

    I thought he loved me… What a fool I was. :-(

    Congratulations to you, though, Dale. I’m not sure it’s deserved, but it must be an honor none the less!

  4. Well, he has said that he’s open to additions, because there are so many now that he can’t keep them all straight. So you could remind him! :)

    Someone pointed out to me that I’m in section 2.13 as well as in “My Enemies”. Now if I just knew what the section numbers meant…

Leave a comment