Dale discovers AOs

Approaching my fifth Rezday (omg!) you’d think I’d seen most things in Second Life, but somehow there’s always something new. Just the other day I discovered this amazing technology called the “Animation Overrider”…

Okay, that is a joke. :) I’ve actually had an AO since sometime my first week in SL, when I stumbled on something giving out completely free and simple (HUDless!) AOs, that just replaced the default hysterical walk and run with ones from some default Poser set.

But otherwise, except for a few brief experiments with some rather eyerolling “sexy” girl anims that came with a gown a long time ago, I’ve used all the standard Linden stands and sits and groundsits and flying positions and things, both as a boy and a girl, and been quite happy with them.

(And it gives Certain People something to tease me about, heh heh.)

Once I’d learned about these things, I cracked open my AO and found that it was just a single old “framination” script, with a mostly-blank notecard and two poses in it. I incorporated that into my Magic Bracelet so as not to take up a whole attachment point with it, and left it there.

Recently in an idle moment I started playing. I found a bunch of random animations in inventory, including some nice ANIMAH AO ones I got from a Lucky Chair or something sometime, and stuck them in my bracelet and added them to the notecard. That was sort of fun, so I went out shopping and actually bought a few more, and removed some of the initial ones that were annoying. (I like nice subtle animations that don’t have me wandering all over the place or constantly fiddling with my hair.)

The next day I got ambitious and converted the notecard to ZHAO format, passed it to the Imprudence built-in AO panel, and poof, a nice lagless AO for Girl Dale.

Girl Dale with AO

I also threw in the “Hanged Man” animation that I use in my 1,000 Avatars picture, just for variety. :)

Girl Dale with AO; special pose :)

(And yeah, it does awful things to the front of the mini-corset there; that’s the SL AV mesh for ya.)

Then yesterday (was that yesterday?), being in a boy mood again, I worked up an AO for Boy Dale. Rather than starting from scratch this time, I started with the (old, inexpensive) Coolest Man AO from Vista, because from the vendor board it didn’t seem too horrifyingly macho

Boy Dale with AO

So now Boy Dale can stand, and even sit, in non-newborn sorts of ways!

Boy Dale with AO, sitting

I haven’t added the Hanged Man stand to the boy one yet, or converted it to the built-in viewer AO, or really done anything much at all with it. But I’ll get around to it. Unless I get distracted by something shiny! :)

Some random credits:

Vista Coolest Man AO from the Random Old Stuff section of Vista Animations

Various specific poses from the back room of Sinse AO (lots of nice poses at 10L each) and from the wonderful and quirky 3M/MMMA, which I see has moved, and from ANIMAH, which no longer exists.

Girl Dale’s red jacket from CHG Fashion (I think it was a hunt prize), and floral mini-corset from EDS (was that a hunt too?).

Girl Dale’s ossom BAX boots bought at Kungler’s as mentioned previously (now I have the purple as well as the brown; equally amazing).

Top and jeans in standing-up-boy picture from WoE (who have also moved, just to confuse me!).

Clothes in sitting-down-boy picture from “Sexy4Less” which were having a Big Sale inworld but are normally just in the Marketplace.

Boy Dale’s Ankh (always) from Schadenfreude, which is a gigantic elephant, and well worth seeing even if you aren’t shopping. :)

One Response

  1. […] (I love the jump animations in my AO.) […]

Leave a Reply

