Quite many more Burn2 pictures!

I have been having a great time working on my Burn2 build, pedaling around the playa looking at other peoples’s ones, and like that. Also taking pictures!

Here I am on my bike, returning from a notional quick trip back to civilization for more chocolate and apparently stuffed animals:

Back from a quick supply run

Entering along the road from the notional last outpost of civilization, there’s some nice monumental stuff as one comes onto the Playa, including the DMV.

Onto the playa

The DMV

The DMV folks seem to be working on some cool vehicles; but I like my classic Arcadia Asylum Hobo bicycle.

The Rangers are the best dug-in people on the playa so far; they got here first, after all.

Their dome is quite a landmark. And they have bunches of buildings!

Passing the Ranger Dome

I just hope us builders are rambunctious enough to give them something to do. :)

Finally there’s my box in the middle distance!

Almost there

It’s a longish pedal. (I wonder if that is another ranger dome on the horizon there.)

Home at last:

Camp Sweet Camp

That day I hung some cloth from the wooden awning there to keep the sun off, and made flags of my own with the Burn2 logo (and mine are Free To Copy, unlike Some People’s!), and met one of my next-camp neighbors.

Also sometime recently, an adorable little stoat or vole or sloth or something waddled through curiously:

Adorable visitor at Burn2 camp

and I’ve now pretty much finished off the place! The first draft, anyway. :) And I thought of a name.

So here is Ten Thousand Things Camp:

Ten Thousand Things Camp

The Blue truck and Red building in the background are not mine (although the shadow cast on the ground by the red building is, heehee). Nor is the wooden platform and stuff across the road.

Nor is the streetsign, that’s infrastructure. Apparently I am at the corner of Seoul and 6:00. Okay!

The Big Box and the Round Striped Tent-thing and the Awning and Old Car and Comfy Seats and Infoboxes and Fire Swirls and Random Junk are all mine, though. :) Many will be Free To Copy when the place opens and you come by!

The way that can be trodden is not the eternal way.
The name that can be named is not the eternal name.
The nameless is the beginning of Heaven and Earth.
The named is the mother of the Ten Thousand Things.

And now there’s less than a month left until Opening Day.

Time Until Event

Plenty of time to fiddle with the build and peddle around nosing into other people’s. :)

2 Responses

  1. I noticed you have commented on some of Adric Antfarm’s posts. I regret to inform you that he (David) passed away suddenly late Saturday night, apparently of natural causes.
    I was his best friend in the “real” world, having known him for 20 years. If you would like more info, you can email me at roadhunter AT cox DOT net.
    You are welcome to share this information with others in the SL community, and they are welcome to contact me as well. I have an SL account, but, unfortunately, am completely inept at using the application.
    I would particularly like copies of any person emails Adric might have sent to anyone, as long as they feel they are OK to be shared. David was a great writer, and I’m kicking myself for not saving every rant and rave he ever sent me. I’d hate to lose any more of his brilliant wit to the delete key if it can be avoided. Thank you.

    -John
    Tulsa, OK

    • I will contact you directly in email; thank you for passing along that very sad news. Adric was a unique person behind all of his funny / grumpy / self-deprecating masks, and I know he will be missed by many. This is quite a shock…

      (The little mammal in the picture above was Adric, in fact, waddling comically around the playa. I was hoping my comment on that shot would get a rise out of him. I will just have to imagine it now.)

Leave a Reply

