Bygone Picks II: Corsair Peninsula

For the next expired Pick in my Picks, I have a number of vague memories of questionable accuracy. I remember hanging out in Warmouth Infohub (a place I hung out alot when new, back when it was still open for rezzing and gleefully chaotic), and a comparative oldbie appeared and offered a musical performance of some kind (playing some nice prim instrument, I think) up on the stage. Her (his?) home region was down, apparently, and she was going around giving random performances elsewhere.

I looked at her Picks, this memory continues, and in there I found Corsair Peninsula, in Dogfight Atoll.

The parcel text in this Pick says “The Crashed Hull of the Famed Battle Zepplin Pandora, As Well as Furrtune Hunter Nathan ZackFurry’s Fated Grave.”, to which I’ve added “(Awesome build in general.)”.

And it was. Again as I recall, I TPd in and walked around, down an airstrip and into some ruined retrotech structure, out again to find two Residents with one or more aircraft standing there talking, and I talked to them, complementing the build. The more striking one, as I remember, was an anthropomorphic cat, whose eyes were subtly shedding tears of blood.

(Nowadays a few clicks would have told me at least whether they were prim or particle; back then I was just amazed and baffled.)

I explored more of the sim, and ran into a King and Queen of Pirates (or something like that) up among some zeppelins and floating platforms. I came across the cat-person again, in a different fascinating build way up above the ground, and ended up seated at a table with the cat-person and various also-fascinating associates, talking about everything and nothing, and thinking (as I have frequently over the last few years in SL), oh wow, this is indeed the place.

Now my memory also says that the cat-person was Kriss Lehmann. The fact that that person, and the Kriss Lehmann that I interviewed for the VAA a few months later, and the Kriss Lehmann that is now the brains behind Straylight Botanical, are in some ways all very different from each other doesn’t mean that the memory is wrong. This is SL, after all! :)

The Pick, as it currently sits in my Picks, says “No Parcel, (Unknown Region) (192, 216, 28)”. The LM, acquired on 24 December 2006 (just a week after my first rezzing), says “Corsair Peninsula, Dogfight Atoll (240, 210, 616)”. I don’t know why one location name was lost and the other survived! But under either name it is now lost to the mists of time (unless someone can point me at it having moved somewhere else), replaced by all sortsa other fascinating stuff.

So what should I put in my Picks to replace it? Maybe Pteron. Assuming it’s still there… :)

4 Responses

  1. Pteron may still be, after all this time, my favorite build/sim in all of SL. No matter how often I go (usually showing others its wonders) I always feel as if the aliens who built it will appear around the next turn.

    • Yes! And when I went there to make the Pick, I ran into things I’ve sure I’ve never seen before. It’s astounding still…

  2. You are right, Dale! the young cat person crying bloody tears, then later sitting down with you was in fact me, in one of the early incarnations.

    And for an even more mind blowing thought? Dogfight Atoll was Kriss’s first home and after it was eventually closed down, it was purchased by… ME! So Straylight AND Dogfight Atoll are one and the same. And the first sim that really opened it’s arms to me 4 years ago, is still my home to this day.

Leave a Reply

