LL customer survey designed by idiots

Okay, usually I avoid Lab-bashing, ’cause I know firsthand that what they are doing is real hard, and I adore the end-product.

But in this particular case…

I’ve submitted two tickets lately, one about the lag in Vallone where my Zindra land is, and one about the tons of abandoned land in Hughes Rise. On the first, I eventually got a belated note saying that the region had been restarted since I submitted my ticket, but if it happened again I should feel free to contact Live Help for faster service. On the second, as far as I can tell no human has looked at it in the five weeks since I opened it.

So today I get an email from the Lab asking me to fill out a survey about my recent use of support. I follow the link, and it’s a nice small one-page survey with some freeform input fields, so I check boxes and write significant stuff in the input fields, and press submit. And I get back the form again, with a nasty red error box saying helpfully:

Error:
  Satisfaction overall explanation: Value cannot exceed 255 characters

I mean, words fail, eh? It’s an absurdly small limit in the first place, and not telling the customer about it until after they’ve tried to give you more than 255 characters of information is just actively user-hostile.

So I curse, reduce the size of my longest input to under 255 characters (thus making it less valuable to the Lab), and press Submit again.

Error:
  Satisfaction overall explanation: Value cannot exceed 255 characters

I curse louder. Maybe the total length of all the input fields on the page can’t be more than 255 characters?

So I pare them down to the bare minimum, and press Submit again.

Error:
  Satisfaction overall explanation: Value cannot exceed 255 characters

Nope, apparently you get only one chance, and if you ever go over 255 characters, the page will just taunt you with the fact forever, and not let you submit.

Just because I am such a nice guy, I close the browser window, go back to the original email, click the link, and fill out the whole form again, carefully keeping my responses short.

This time, Submit works.

And I send off a peeved letter to support at secondlife dot com, and vent in my weblog.

Sheesh!

3 Responses

  1. Pastebin?

    Or post to website publicly, twitterlink it, and see if Wallace/RTLinden bothers to curate it for his bosses?

    -ls/cm

  2. Is dear Wally still around? Hmm…there were really good Lindens let go.

Leave a Reply

