Bygone Picks I: Clanger’s inventions

A friend pointed out to me today that some of the interesting-sounding places in my Picks no longer exist, at least not at the same places. And that’s true!

In a way it’s sad, that so many lovely and fascinating places vanish from the world, from the Grid. On the other hand everything is ephemeral, and as long as new lovely and fascinating places keep appearing, there is really nothing to mourn, and letting go is a good skill.

So I told the friend that I would weblogify on some of the vanished ones, and replace them with new ones. And here we are!

I think the very first Pick I ever put into my Picks was for “Clanger’s inventions”. (Punctuation and capitalization not mine.) The landmark for it in my inventory was acquired 15 Dec 2006, just about three weeks after I rezzed.

It occupied the entire region called (wait for it) “Clangers Inventions”, which no longer seems to exist. The parcel text says “Clames Clanger, Clanger’s inventions, Clangers Inventions (134, 133, 41)”; Clames Clanger, who I believe was the owner and creator, no longer seems to be in search. How time flies! How everything changes!

I remember the region being a bold riot of color and motion and secret hidden things. There was a rotating central pillar with a secret elevator under it that led down to a subterranean sea. There was some sort of ride that would push you through a series of push-points, from which you would ultimately tumble out of the sky. There was a circle of seats that, if touched in the right place, would rise into the sky where there was… something or other. I think, if I’m remembering right, that I came upon RacerX Gullwing there, and that he had maybe built some of it also. My comment in the Pick is just “Way cool place.”

On 17 December 2006, I put this picture on flickr, of me dancing in the sky above the sim:

Clanger's Invention

Seeing that picture and thinking of the place reminds me how it was in my first weeks in Second Life, still amazed and dumbfounded by the wonderfulness of it all.

Not that I’ve stopped being. :)

But now I am going to remove that Pick from my Picks, so that (as my friend pointed out) I can add more things that Pick-followers can actually visit.

I think maybe for this first one I’ll put in pointer to the Hughes Rise park…

Update: While looking for the LM for Clanger’s inventions, I came across a notecard in inventory that reminded me that I wrote up Clanger’s inventions for the VAA weblog, ‘way back when. Apparently I found it in the first place by following picks! How very appropriate.

4 Responses

  1. =^..^= three years later I still return to places that are long gone just to sit and “remember when”

    • Definitely! When filling in new Picks to replace gone ones, I will try to mix great new finds with classic old ones that are still there…

  2. Some years ago, I went with my mother to visit the house in which she grew up. It was, as it turned out, torn down. She cried, loudly and uncontrollably, in the car, for some time. And I held her, and cried for her.

Leave a Reply

