Serendipity and Route 7

The other day I was gazing idly at the map I have in the Park, and I read the little note next to the “Gaeta I” continent, about how Gaeta is planned as a group of five linked continents sharing variants of the name Gaeta, and realizing that I’d never explored anything at all to do with that note, I opened the map and typed “gaeta” into the region search box.

Regions and continents are of course different things, and while no obvious continents showed up in the results, there was a region called “Gaeta Reef”, which was good enough for me, so (flying first, since the region seemed entirely water and I was not in swimwear at the time) I teleported over.

The region was indeed a lovely glimmering expanse of ocean. I didn’t dive down to see if there were interesting reefs to explore, but instead flew until I found a rezzing area (I still don’t really understand why Linden Protected Land like Gaeta Reef doesn’t allow rezzing with like a one-minute timeout; probably there is some form of griefing that this would enable that I’m just not familiar with), rezzed the faithful Trudeau Twenty (sorry, Ari, I still prefer it to the gunboat), and sailed happily and aimlessly about for awhile, which I hadn’t done in all too long, eventually fetching up on shore near an interesting-looking road in the quaintly-named “Phasic Foo” region.

The road turned out to be Linden Route 7, along the southern coast of what is apparently the “Gaeta V” continent (at least according to the map in the Park). I got out a lovely motorbike that really deserves a posting or two of its own, and posed scenically at the official Road Ends point.

Road Ends

If you look at the map of that part of the coastline, it’s clear that there’s something that continues beyond that pile of rocks and “Road Ends” sign.

Turns out that it’s a pleasantly-disheveled boardwalk:

Beyond Road Ends

(If you look closely at that picture, or click through to flickr and look at the larger one, you can just see the pile of rocks and the sign in the distance.)

Continuing in that direction, there is a dangerous area:

Beyond Road Ends: Killer Sharks

and not far beyond it a somewhat more definitive end to Route 7:

Beyond Road Ends: the boardwalk ends

Although one could always rez a boat. Or an airplane. Or a gravsled…

(The motorcycle behind me isn’t mine; I walked this part. Oddly enough, this particular stretch of the Linden right-of-way is not only rez-enabled, but appears to have no autoreturn. So potentially an interesting place to examine for random litter now and then.)

Back on the motorbike, heading east-northeast on the officially-existing part of Route 7, I came to a noteworthy local attraction:

Blue Moon Burlesque

The Blue Moon Burlesque Club. A well-thought out build and premise; to quote from the group info of its Patron Group (which I have not yet found a slot for in my groups-list grrrr):

Once a splendid art deco seaside establishment – The Blue Moon Burlesque Theatre has slid into a state of disrepair and misuse. Frequented by drunks, jazz musicians and refugees from Hemingway and Greene novels – The Blue Moon is home to ‘good time girls’ who entertain the masses with sizzling Dance and Burlesque shows. This is a place of fantasy and slow rhythms, soft bluesy jazz and hot sultry nights…

And when I looked to the Moon it turned to gold.

A friendly and atmospheric and really quite respectable place; being on mature land the ladies are protected by common standards of decency, but (as I found out yesterday afternoon at one of their regular and well-attended shows) this does not prevent them from putting on diverting and aesthetically pleasing performances, to an appreciative audience.

(Oh, and look! They have a website.)

A bit beyond the Blue Moon are various commercial establishments, including a large and neatly-landscaped place that sells houses and so on. But (as usually happens when I start exploring) I got distracted by something else before I got much further, and flitted off elsewhere.

But I have a landmark! :) And I expect to wander aimlessly along Route 7 again in the not too distant future. (Mainland ftw!)

5 Responses

  1. The Rt. 7 waterway is in front of our house. Big white mansion. You can’t miss it. Stop by and say hi next time you are in the neighborhood.

  2. Hi Dale!

    Good luck on your journeying in Gaeta (V, I suppose). I have some info about the continent on my site, but kou Umaga is The Man for all your exploring needs, mainland style. Translation is a bit rough, but info is gold.
    http://kuzoku.blogspot.com/search/label/Gaeta%E2%85%A4%E5%A4%A7%E9%99%B8

  3. Thanks, Tymmerie and baker!

    I will look for that mansion.

    And for some translation software. :) From the pictures and the scattered recognizable words, it does look valuable. I’ll have to look around for those giant ants…

Leave a Reply

