Wahaha

So yeah yeah yeah there is Avatars United, a social networking site which the Lab bought, shortly after a “blog” post in which a brand-new Linden said that he wanted to talk about social networking stuff in theory, not because the Lab was going to do anything in particular no no of course not.

Then a week later the Lab said hey we’re told that some of you funny Residents have noticed that anyone in the world can create an Avatars United page in your name, and that this bothers you. It never occurred to us that this would bother anyone, but since apparently it does we might eventually do something about it. Or not.

But that’s not what I want to be snarky about right now. :)

(So far I’ve registered myself, and Spennix, and two other WoW characters; I mostly have no idea why since it seems awfully pointless, but since it’s an Official LL Property I thought it worth having at least played with.)

What I wanted to be snarky about tonight was this email that I got from the Lab, about whatever this Valentine’s Day contest or hunt or something that they’re having is.

(I don’t much like overproduced marketing email from the Lab, and for that matter I don’t much like the media and commercial outfits pummeling me with hearts and pink things and so on; I am not, for the record, in love with any commercial enterprise, nor do I need their assistance in expression my emotions. Grumble, grumble, snark, whinge.)

So anyway this commercial email from the Lab about their hunt or whatever ended by saying that we should keep up with developments on Facebook or Twitter.

When they just a few days before bought their own social networking site. Which is not, note, Facebook or Twitter.

/me shakes head.

(The comments thread on “blog” posting about the Hunt or whatever itself has quite a bit of related reaction to the fact that to qualify for the Grand Prize you have to actually post something to Facebook, which is problematic because Facebook, well, sort of doesn’t allow virtual identities, and one would have thought that… Well.)

5 Responses

  1. Heh, well spotted fella – the poor dears at the lab are obviously surrfering a bad case of arse and elbow disorder… again.

    I don’t use facebook, use twitter for silliness and don’t see the point of AU. Oh, and I never do the official hunts things – all in all, I doubt I’m the target audience for any of this :-D

  2. Forget “right hand not knowing what left is doing”… this sinks to the level of fingers on the same hand being unaware.

    Otherwise, I’m in the same camp with HeadBurro: Facebook is anathema; Twitter is for “hey, look at this!” among fellow bloggers; AU is pointless… and email from The Lab — unless it’s my annual Premie renewal, or acknowledging an AR — is spam.

  3. Well spotted?

    He read a thread full of bitching legions of people now populating the new forum with such deep topics as;

    “Why do people not like the Lindens?”
    “I feel violated”
    “How do I unfriend someone in AU?”
    “Inventory issues anyone?”

    I could start a farm of blogs with that material without effort.

    Now blogging about your cat friend? That is exhausting.

  4. Yeah, I really wanted to snark only about the single irony of the LL spam saying “watch Twitter and Facebook”, when they’d just bought AU, but snarking about the lab always tends to expand… :)

    An’ Adric, i hafta admit that I didn’t read the thread on the official blog or whatever it was until *after* I’d written the rest of this. It did make it seem a bit anticlimactic.

    I need to write some non-snarky stuff. But that is harder. :D

  5. I honestly cannot find any evidence anyone with a rez day after 2009 reads or posts in the official forums as of late, so I find it sad you went even after you wrote. Unless you were looking for laughs of course.

    The Linden posts are often even worse since they appear to be written only to gather the aforementioned new and/or chronically new crowd to support things that screw them over.

    Snark is a soul eater. I recommend some long self examination pieces.

    Or something on the sexiest avatars.

Leave a Reply

