Over (and under) the Bounding Main

The caption on a lovely Callipygian Christensen snapzilla photo the other day reminded me of the Steampunk Hunt, and I actually managed to find a little time to spend on it. As Calli says, the exploring of new places is at least half the pleasure of the hunt.

Some of these Victorian Steampunk builds are really lovely, both in conception and in execution. I could take tons of impressive pictures and deluge you with them, but instead I’m gonna show off one particular theme that I ran across, and just loved. The theme is, essentially, what one might do with a region that has little or no land. (Besides, say, sailing around in it, which is lots of fun, but a little obvious.)

First picture:

Armada Breakaway

This is Armada Breakaway, the same region that Calli’s picture shows. I love the motif here: a city built entirely on a ragtag collection of boats and rafts and blimps and ramps, walkways, piers and docks, with essentially no actual land; the trees to the left there are growing in a “park” that’s housed in a pair of boat hulls. This is a snap of just part of the sim, cammed quite a ways up. (I’m standing on the large ship more or less in the lower center, but I’m just a few pixels.)

Then another region on the Steam Hunt, also steampunk and also almost entirely without land above water, but otherwise very different from Armada: Vernian Deep. (Took me awhile to make the connection to Jules!)

It’s a really lovely build, full of atmosphere and detail. Here I am standing in a long corridor way down in the depths:

Vernian Deep, in the depths

Almost the entire sim is under water, full of ramshackle buildings constructed from wrecks and debris and sunken diving bells, and also at least one elegant conservatory full of art and comfort, sitting elegantly on the ocean bottom among the octopi.

There are two things (that I noticed) up above the waves in Vernian Deep. I won’t tell you about the larger one, so you can have the fun of discovering it yourself. :) Here’s the other one:

Vernian Deep, above water

A mysterious retrotech building; reminds me of Myst in a way. In fact Myst and the rather steampunk D’ni, with their gleaming brass and elaborate decorations, are well within this general space. (Except for the being-entirely-underwater part; the D’ni are obsessed with islands instead.)

So anyway those are two extremely cool places. :) And the Steam Hunt promises to take me through quite a few more.

I do love SL…

3 Responses

  1. Hiya Dale – I’m new to the Steampunk world myself (I mean I’ve known about it and explored the edge for the last 2 years or more, but I’m new in terms of living in it) and I have to agree – some of the most inventive and beautiful builds I’ve ever seen have been steamies.

    The last pic is the lair of the evil Dr Obolensky who recently took over New Babbage by force only to be defeated by the joint air, sea and land forces (and a strong resistance internal force) from across the Steamlands – here is a post about his defeat: http://hiberniaskids.blogspot.com/2009/07/overthrow.html

    p.s. I met Cali in a Steampunk photography contect awards do – that’s how i then met Osprey and Enjah and Young and my good friends – I owe Cali a lot and love that gal to bits!

  2. Oh… My… Gosh…

    I speculated over on flickr that there might be some backstory to be had there, but I had no idea it was this thorough. Thanks for the pointer! (That’s a really amazing comic.)

  3. i love other people’s imagination. and tunnels.

Leave a Reply

