What I Would Do With My Sim

Well, it’s still Wednesday somewhere! :)

Yesterday’s (Tuesday’s) BBBC suggested topic was:

You’ve been given a sim of your very own to use for free for one year. However, there are 3 rules. It cannot be residential, it cannot be commercial, and it has to be open to the public. What do you do with it?

And I kind of like that, so even thought it’s Wednesday or perhaps Thursday I’ll use it.

Potential

I think I’d spend the first month just playing around with all those prims, and with a sim that I could disrupt and lag and crash without bothering anyone, having a good time and making replicators and self-rezzing objects and so on. Maybe the first two months. :) Using it as a personal sandbox, that is, although of course open to the public (that being the terms of the lease). They can come and watch me do weird things.

Then I think I’d divide it into nine sections (three by three), reserve the middle one for myself, and find eight creative friends (who maybe don’t have sims of their own) and offer them the chance to do whatever they want for the rest of the year on their part of my sim. I’d make them the owner, and give them full rights to do stuff (never having owned an estate I’m not sure exactly what this means, but I would figure it out and do it).

And then I’d hang around fiddling with my own 1/9 region, watching what my friends were doing on theirs, maybe calling for informal parties, having fireworks shows, and so on, for the next happy nine or ten or eleven months.

It would be great!

What would you do with yours?

7 Responses

  1. Can I be one of your 9? Please????? I wanna do weird stuff with you.

    ooops…

    That sounded kind of….

    never mind.

  2. :) You would definitely be on the shortlist.

  3. If presented with a similar opportunity I would do the same thing as you, but I’d make sure to have pedways or public access dedicated roadways between each of the parcels.
    And perhaps dedicate one parcel as public reserve land for common use and the temporary enjoyment of casual visitors.
    Or just take the sim and twist it into a torus for fun…turn it inside out and all the elephants and tigers, not to mention trapeze artists (from the circus camped out on your public land) would be inside.

  4. Non-Euclidean geometry FTW! :)

  5. I mentioned about 10 months ago that I wanted to create or rather recreate “Historical Visby” and make it a “Virtual Visby”.. not unlike Kowloon City… my concept of Virtual Visby would be more about mixing the past with the present and creation of a possible space age future.

    If you do not know this “Neo Kowloon” is a representation of a real place which no longer exists.. and Visby has many aspects as a city which makes me recall details of Kowloon’s short history… such as the wall.. so naturally the wall would be “whole” which is it not at the present day.. and some of the present day buildings which are now firmly attached to the wall would not exist but I would have to either do much research into how the buildings and structures of the area looked and how I could project an idea of them from the past into a false future of a time far beyond our own where this very city continues in past contexts with castle, wall and churchs from 800ad still intact.

    but that’s me.. I would have a problem with it being an either winter or summer city also since the weather of Visby has extremes.. windlight and weather highlights would have to be strongly played upon which doesn’t always work.

    • Fun! If you need any little scripts written for it… :)

      I once made a quasi-recreation of the city of Bath, also mixing ancient and modern elements, in a TinyMUD. Anyone remember TinyMUDs? :) Seems like a million years ago. The ancestor of SL, really! Hm I should do a weblog entry about that…

  6. You should, I would love to know about TinyMUD–

    A version of Bath, cool :)

Leave a Reply

