Virtual Identity

Dale and DaleSo there’s been this discussion going around about the social construction of virtual identity, and I’ve commented in both of those places at some length, and I thought to myself “hey here’s a deep an’ substantive topic that I can comment on instead of just posting pictures of WoW mounts and flaming desks and stuff”, and I started to write a weblog entry in my head, but when I got down to it everything that I had to say seemed so obvious that I stopped again.

But then I remembered how easy it is to post a weblog entry, so I started again. :)

To my thinking there are two interesting questions in this discussion:

First, to what extent is identity socially constructed? It’s pretty noncontroversial that essentially all normal healthy ordinary happy identities are formed to a significant extent through social interactions, that alot of how we think about ourselves has to do with how we think other people think of us, and so on. Whether social interaction is necessary for identity formation is a more open question. Some people have said in various places that identity (or consciousness, or some other word in basically the same drawer) is impossible without interaction. I tend to think that this is too strong, and that someone who managed to be born and survive without any interaction would still have some sort of identity, but we don’t really have much evidence one way or the other on that, and I’m not entirely wedded to the notion.

The second interesting question is whether RL and SL (atomic and virtual) identities are different with respect to that first question. Gwyneth’s original posting, linked to above, made the case that while atomic identities are influenced by social interaction, virtual identities depend entirely upon such interaction (“the digital self is only defined by the amount of interactions it has with other digital selves”; italics in the original). I disagreed with that at some length in the comments (basically just because I see no reason to think it’s true, and Gwyneth didn’t really present any), and disagreed with dandellion Kimban’s posting (also linked above) that said that the virtual self is different because there’s always the real self there looking at it. (My rather abstract but I think correct counter was that even in the case of my atomic self, there’s always the inner mental self looking at it, and that’s the same self that’s there looking at the virtual self.)

So basically my claim is that, however much socially-constructed we decide to say that identity is, I don’t see any convincing reason to think that the answer is any different for virtual selves than it is for atomic selves. This fits in with my cognitive drift in general, of course; when people point out something or other about how people are in SL, I’m forever chiming in to say “just like in RL!” (except for, you know, things like being able to fly and create zeppelins with our minds and stuff). But I think it’s also true!

So that’s me weighing in on an Important Issue of the Day for a change. I might at some point weigh in on this “augmentation vs immersion is really a false dichotomy” thing sometime, too (I don’t think it’s a false dichotomy at all), but not tonight. The most you’ll get tonight beyond this is some of the recently-uploaded Spennix pictures, and probably not even that. :)

4 Responses

  1. I really enjoy your post. It’s a heavy-weighty topic to be sure, and I’m with you…I’m not at all sure there needs to be such an either-or approach to the question, but to each their own. It’s all perspective, some might say, and there’s alot of truth to that. As we’ve talked about many times, we bring ourselves to all worlds. Precisely because of perception…it’s through my mind and thought processes and emotions that I interact in SL. It’s from within me that I, as an avatar, make choices and perceive. Even if I’m trying on a faery form…I’m behaving how *I* think a faery might behave. The faery isn’t telling me how to think like one. It doesn’t bring life to me. I bring life to it. (It’s that saying…”No matter where you go, there you are.” We bring ourselves to everything we do…I struggle to see how it can be otherwise, but I’m always open to trying to understand the position of those who feel differently on this.) As for the *requirement* of social interaction as a means to possess identity, again, I agree with you…I don’t believe there is a either-or requirement of this nature. Speaking of nature, perhaps the requirement is more of an environmental interaction…with all of the world and all that that means. Basically, experiences. Those could be a mix of things, with others, in solitude, in the elements of creativity and life. I always wonder if we’re blank slates without a mind of our own if the only way to have an identity is based on what others say about us. That doesn’t seem quite true (sounds extremely limiting with ramifications for one’s self esteem), or maybe I’m misunderstanding the point. I tend to think identity is so highly complex that its formation and possibly continual refinement/evolution comes from a wider range of things, through more dimensions than solely one. That said, ’tis true…no person is an island. Even if we can still know who we are as an entity…it’s just not as fulfilling. We are social creatures. Thank you for such a wonderful, thought-provoking post. And Spennix rawks. (So does the bot episode…still makes me giggle.)

  2. Please check my article

    Hi Please check this article below .we are working to solve this issue

    Unique virtual social identification number
    By vsoid
    Your Virtual Social Identity on web for Global Cause…

    VSOID.com is the first people search engine in the web world providing Unique Identification Number to its users across the globe. This Unique Number will store all information about the user facilitating various services offered by VSOID.com

    VOSID.com aims to be tie-up with global and local leading brands and service providers to offer competitive benefits to its users. This will act as a marketing tool for many of the services and charity organizations.

    VSOID.com offer users wide range of services ranging from association with brands of their choices to get great deals and exclusive offers from time to time, support global cause, search jobs and share information.

    Its is first of its kind which tells you the people interested in your Brand .This exclusive search gives the information of the customers which will help brands to reach there loyal customers easily and Understand there needs.

    VSOID.com is the place was people can get closely associated with the social causes to make this world a better place to live. This exclusive search will help to find people who support the common social cause.
    The Vsoid.com was incorporated in August 2009 by its four partners: Mr Prashant Patil, Ms Sonali Jain

    Within period of one month vsoid.com as already reached 40,000 users across India and abroad. This website can also be substitute for Unique Identification Number which the Indian government is planning to launch. This virtual unique identification number can even help to stop cyber crime if it is been used effectively

  3. VSOID is a unique platform which lets you create your own unique social identity. VSOID will help to create new opportunities, get closely associated with the social issues and more important to be part of brands of big companies. Virtual Social Identity Number – A first of its kind initiative in an online world.One number to store all your information and will make easy to connect to other verticals

    The Vsoid.com will define a new way of search engine by consolidating all the information at one place and simplifying the process of searching.
    The Vsoid.com will provide distinct services:
    1:Unique Social Identification Number
    2:Credential Database Services
    3:Facilitates an association with brands of your choice
    4:Facilitates an association with Social cause
    5:Effortless Find and Connect Services

    Within a period of one month we have 40,000 active users of this service which shows the potential of this website and the service

    • Haha, wild! I assume this is probably spam, either manual or automatic, but I think I will leave it up as an example of the sort of somewhat clueless “we will store all of your personal information for you, just trust us!” stuff that people are dreaming up in their garages in this area.

Leave a Reply

