The Fire Next Door

V good friend Michele and I were wandering around the Hughes Rise Park, and went over to the mall next door to see how it was doing. It’s a relatively new mall, and it’s been mostly empty, with a few gambling machines for awhile, and now a place selling pretty neat-looking hoverboards. As we approached, I got an unsolicited group invite from a stranger, which I ignored by reflex. The mall was empty, except for a rather generic woman named Emma sitting behind a desk. She was a bot.

How do I know she was a bot? Well, she’s the one that sent me the group invite, and her profile says “I am the group Manager Only DO NOT TALK TO ME OR IM ME i will not ancer”, and she didn’t say anything when I asked her if she was a bot, and she didn’t say anything when Michele and I perched attractively on the back of her chair:

The Friendly Neighborhood Bot

and she didn’t even say anything when her desk was suddenly engulfed in flames!

Fire, fire!

Fortunately Michele and I were wearing our protective goggles, and we went pfffff at the fire alot, and were able to extinguish it before any damage was done. Michele got a great shot of bot Emma sleeping through the whole thing.

Note that no actual AVs were griefed in the making of this weblog entry; don’t try this at home, kids!

2 Responses

  1. I ***keep*** giggling and laughing every time I look at our photos and again now while reading your wonderful blog entry…huge wide grins, as always always, such wonderful fun!

  2. Update: that entire mall is now gone! And the land is for sale (a mere 45K for 6656m2, I think it was). I wonder if they’ll inform prospective buyers about the history of spontaneous combustion? :)

Leave a Reply

